Blackpink “The Album” Review

Rain
9 min readOct 4, 2020

--

Blackpink, from left to right: Rosé, Jisoo, Jennie, and Lisa- Image from Google Images

This was the moment I’ve been waiting for in Blackpink’s career. I’ve been following Blackpink for the last few years and even got to see them in concert in 2019. I think they are widely talented and a fun spirited group. However, the last few comebacks felt as if Blackpink wasn’t growing in their style and music. They were doing very similar songs and I was starting to get discouraged as their fan. Now, I have always known they have the talent and the versatility to do many different styles and songs, but it didn’t seem like YG Entertainment (their company) was ever going to give them the chance to show that off.

But Blackpink’s “The Album” is the breath of fresh air I’ve been waiting for. I can see that the girls got to produce and have input on this album. The results are a collection of the best songs Blackpink has ever released in my opinion. YG needed to give them the freedom to produce and create their own music because this feels like it was truly weaved by the members. It feels real and I hope they get to have more and more say in their music from here on out.

I want to go through the core songs of the album and review them. They all deserve to be talked about but I’m excluding How You Like That and Ice Cream because they were released prior and they don’t have the same qualities as the rest of the album.

From left to right: Jennie, Jisoo, Rosé, and Lisa

Pretty Savage

This song is fierce. The opening piano melody pulls you right into the song and sets it up with a dark, badass vibe. Then Lisa drops a savage rap on us and Jennie only adds to that. The lyrics to this track are confident, powerful, and embody Blackpink. They are pretty in pink but will bury you in the black.

I also love the subtle build up in the pre chorus and how there isn’t a huge drop in the song but it still feels like a very satisfying drop. Especially with Jennie’s vocal squeak right before it. It adds to the fierce quality. Which is different and makes the chorus stand out.

Jisoo rapping in the second verse had my jaw on the floor even if it is a more melodic rap. I wasn’t expecting it at all. She is my bias and I always say she is underrated in Blackpink. This was a perfect example of that because she kills this verse and she blew me away.

I think the slow down at the bridge and end of this song is genius. It is so satisfying that the song starts so strong, telling the haters to move over more or less and then by the end of the song Rosé says “I got nothing left to say to you” and the beat is slowed down. This relaxed tempo gives them and the song even more confidence. I just picture them sitting on thrones above all their haters without even looking down at them. They are unbothered by them at this point. That’s how much confidence they have.

It is exactly as the song is named, pretty savage.

Bet You Wanna ft. Cardi B

Rosé’s bright voice tells you right away this is a flirty fun song, and I really love how Jennie plays with and speeds up the tempo when she comes into the pre chorus.

The chorus itself is slower and vocally driven and I think that contrasts very nicely. Especially before Cardi’s rap, which was full of some cool wordplay. I loved that Blackpink added sound effects and ad libs in the background of her rap as well.

They make very effective use of high notes in this song too. It gives the song a bright almost choir effect, but it doesn’t sound dated or corny at all. I will say that I wish we could’ve seen more of Lisa on this track. Seeing Lisa and Cardi do something together or back to back would’ve been really cool.

However, overall the song is fun and a great time. The lyrics have good wordplay and I would like to complement Jisoo’s English because she was a little queen of English on this track and the album in general.

From left to right: Lisa, Rosé, Jennie, and Jisoo- Image from Google Images

Lovesick Girls

I have so much to say about this track. This is one hundred percent the title track I have been waiting to hear from Blackpink. It is different and shows so much growth in them musically, but it still completely fits them and their sound.

Jennie starts the song and just shows her mastery of playing with rhythm and tempo. I also love that we got to hear a different beat style and tempo with Lisa’s rap.

Jisoo and Rosé build the pre chorus with such beautiful vocals that you can feel how incredible the song is going to be before it even hits you.

And when the chorus does hit, you know this song is an anthem. We don’t get the usual Blackpink banger bass drop in this chorus but it still slaps so hard. The progressive beat drives it into such an exciting and hype building experience.

Also, I love how the lyrics contrast with the hype sound of the song. The lyrics are emotional and these girls are in the woes of love and heartbreak, but they are still getting up and giving in their all is how it is conveyed in the song. What a powerful combination.

Speaking of power, I think every Blink (Blackpink fans) was simultaneously turned to dust upon Lisa and Jennie’s rapping during verse two. They are so good at wordplay and they are fully in their element during this verse.

The bridge of this song is probably my favorite part. Jisoo and Rosé sound amazing and it was the perfect layer before going into the final chorus. Which was brilliantly executed through switching up the second half of the final chorus. I also love how they ended this song with the soft “but we’re still looking for love…” lyric. It wrapped up this masterpiece in a way that makes it very memorable. I also think this was some of the most fair line distribution we have ever seen in a Blackpink Title track which I appreciated. They’re all so talented, they deserve to have equal time to shine.

Also, the music video was a perfect blend of fun and emotion. The acting displayed by the girl’s was incredible. I really can’t get enough. This was truly iconic.

Crazy Over You

I was surprised when I realized this song is completely in English. I think it’s cool they open the song with traditional Korean instruments and sounds, but then sing totally in English. They use a traditional flute throughout the song too and this adds to that effect.

Besides the instrumental, Jennie hits so hard in this opening and then we get more of melodic rapping queen Jisoo. Which is fresh and new and adds something very special. I also love how this beginning layers using Jennie to Jisoo to Lisa and then into Rosé singing the front of the pre chorus.

Jennie fits the chorus of this song super well and I love how this chorus uses a subtle drop. This song just flows very well.

I will say Rosé gets the short end of lines in this song, but I think the tone of this song just went well with Jennie, Jisoo, and Lisa. However, I love that they bring Rosé into the bridge and final chorus. It was the change up this flowy flavored song needed and makes it all the more memorable.

From Left to Right: Jisoo, Jennie, Lisa, and Rosé- Image from Google Images

Love To Hate Me

Imagine my surprise when I realized this song was fully in English as well. I have to say, Blackpink does English songs very well. They sound great and I like the way this album progresses from two fully English songs (Crazy Over You and Love To Hate Me) to their final song You Never Know, which is much more Korean heavy. It makes that song stand out even more and that was important because message wise that song is the most raw and real lyrically from Blackpink on this album. However, I will get to more on You Never Know in a minute.

Love To Hate Me is such a vibe. It’s chill and they make it look easy in this song. The opening lines are smooth and flow beautifully. Then Jisoo and Rosé kill the pre chorus. Rosé’s high note on the “want no more drama in my life” line is stunning and then the chorus slides in like butter after Jennie’s part which is playful and dare I say, sexy. It is so smooth.

I once again have to rep Jisoo’s English on this track. She is the one who struggles the most with English and she slays it on this track. In that same spirit, Lisa’s rap is so good on this song. It shows a unique style and to me it exemplified her growth as an artist and just how talented she is.

Overall this song is so easy to listen to. It’s a fun, relaxed vibe that I could chill out to all day.

You Never Know

The sheer emotion in the vocals all throughout this song shows how close this song is to Blackpink’s heart. This is their experience and you can feel that. Jisoo opens this darker, sadder sounding song perfectly. Her unique tone takes you to another place instantly. This only is heightened when Jennie’s voice comes in full of emotion and then Rosé uses a breathy texture in her voice to make this song sound so raw and open.

This song really discusses the times they’ve had dealing with judgement and hate and also how they have grown past that. They’re telling people not to judge others. “It’s easier to judge me than to believe” is the main line in the chorus and it is true. People would rather judge someone else than lift someone up and believe in them. I love this message and this call out to people who are judgmental.

Lisa’s rap is also so relatable to listeners. Who hasn’t spent nights laying in bed being lost in thought, wondering if they are enough as themselves or if they should pretend to make the world happy. I love that her rap is universally relatable, but then Jennie’s following part is very personal to the experience Blackpink themselves has had. This use of universal and personal in combination make this song a powerful force to be reckoned with.

They all shine on this song so much and the emotion they display is so genuine. This song really touched my heart. I love how the bridge became very inspiring too. At the end of it Jennie sounds very reassuring. As if to tell listeners that she is better now and that she is confident and untouchable.

From Left to Right: Rosé, Jisoo, Jennie, and Lisa- Image from Google Images

That’s the undeniable and untouchable spark of Blackpink and it is one of the reasons I respect them so much. I know they have been through a lot and have dealt with too much nonsense from YG entertainment. I’m so happy to see they got to have input in this album and I feel as if I can feel the renewed spirit of Blackpink through this album. I hope that is the case. These girls are so talented and I want them to be able to explore and expand through their music.

Please check out the Music Video for Lovesick Girls and stream “The Album”. These girl’s deserve the recognition for this masterpiece.

--

--

Rain

Creative Writer with a love of research and innovation